Irving Ezra Segal


Ph.D. Yale University 1940 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Ring Properties of Certain Classes of Functions

Advisor: C. Einar (Carl) Hille

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Abrahamson, BrianThe University of Chicago19577
Baez, JohnMassachusetts Institute of Technology198621
Berman, StephenMassachusetts Institute of Technology1972
Blattner, RobertThe University of Chicago19579
Branson, ThomasMassachusetts Institute of Technology19794
Brodsky, A. RobertMassachusetts Institute of Technology1965
Chadam, JohnMassachusetts Institute of Technology19655
Chaiken, JanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1966
Cook, JosephThe University of Chicago1951
Dubins, LesterThe University of Chicago195548
Dye, Jr., HenryThe University of Chicago1950117
Feldman, JacobThe University of Chicago195462
Goodman, RoeMassachusetts Institute of Technology196320
Griffin, Jr., ErnestThe University of Chicago19521
Gross, LeonardThe University of Chicago1958227
Hackman, M. MatthewMassachusetts Institute of Technology1963
Jakobsen, HansMassachusetts Institute of Technology1976
Kallman, RobertMassachusetts Institute of Technology196813
Klein, AbelMassachusetts Institute of Technology19717
Kon, MarkMassachusetts Institute of Technology198012
Kostant, BertramThe University of Chicago1954243
Kunze, RayThe University of Chicago195774
Lavine, RichardMassachusetts Institute of Technology196516
Lee, EdmundMassachusetts Institute of Technology1975
Lennon, MichaelMassachusetts Institute of Technology1969
Lieberman, ArthurMassachusetts Institute of Technology1970
Michael, ErnestThe University of Chicago195122
Nelson, J. EdwardThe University of Chicago1955245
Niederman, DerrickMassachusetts Institute of Technology1981
Ørsted, BentMassachusetts Institute of Technology1976
Paneitz, StephenMassachusetts Institute of Technology1980
Pedersen, JanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1991
Poulsen, NielsMassachusetts Institute of Technology197041
Robbins, StevenMassachusetts Institute of Technology1973
Schonbek, TomasMassachusetts Institute of Technology19702
Shale, DavidThe University of Chicago1960
Singer, IsadoreThe University of Chicago1950196
Stinespring, W. ForrestThe University of Chicago19572
Strauss, WalterMassachusetts Institute of Technology1962119
Weinless, MichaelMassachusetts Institute of Technology1968

According to our current on-line database, Irving Segal has 40 students and 1553 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 6386 for the advisor ID.