Bertram Kostant


Ph.D. The University of Chicago 1954 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Representations of a Lie Algebra and its Enveloping Algebra on Hilbert Space

Advisor: Irving Ezra Segal

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Astashkevich, AlexanderMassachusetts Institute of Technology1995
Batchelor, MarjorieMassachusetts Institute of Technology1978
Biedrzycki, WitoldMassachusetts Institute of Technology1991
Cooper, AllanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1975
Evens, SamuelMassachusetts Institute of Technology19884
Gay, DavidDartmouth College19661
Kilmoyer, Jr., RobertMassachusetts Institute of Technology1969
King, DonaldMassachusetts Institute of Technology19792
Koch, PhilipMassachusetts Institute of Technology1970
Korogodsky, LeonidMassachusetts Institute of Technology1996
Kupershmidt, BorisMassachusetts Institute of Technology19791
Lepowsky, JamesMassachusetts Institute of Technology197046
Lynch, ThomasMassachusetts Institute of Technology1979
Magnus, AlfredMassachusetts Institute of Technology1977
Petters, ArlieMassachusetts Institute of Technology19912
Rallis, StephenMassachusetts Institute of Technology196818
Sepanski, MarkMassachusetts Institute of Technology19941
Simons, JamesUniversity of California, Berkeley196257
Speh, BirgitMassachusetts Institute of Technology19774
Sweedler, MossMassachusetts Institute of Technology19656
Vogan, Jr., DavidMassachusetts Institute of Technology197680

According to our current on-line database, Bertram Kostant has 21 students and 243 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 6442 for the advisor ID.