Joan Sylvia Lyttle Birman

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. New York University 1968 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Braid Groups and Their Relationship to Mapping Class Groups

Advisor: Wilhelm Magnus

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Fein, RichardStevens Institute of Technology1974
Kupferwasser, MarcelloColumbia University1976
Powell, JeromeColumbia University1977
Przytycki, JozefColumbia University198125
McCarthy, JohnColumbia University19832
Trapp, RollandColumbia University1990
Xu, PeijunColumbia University1990
Finkelstein, ElizabethColumbia University1993
Stanford, TheodoreColumbia University19932
Chen, ZhongheColumbia University1994
Kalfagianni, EfstratiaColumbia University199510
Fung, Tat SangColumbia University1996
Greenwood, MatthewColumbia University1996
Ng, Ka-YiColumbia University1996
Hamidi-Tehrani, HessamColumbia University1997
Popescu, ClementColumbia University2001
Zinno, MatthewColumbia University2001
Brendle, TaraColumbia University20025
Wrinkle, NancyColumbia University2002
Broaddus, NathanColumbia University2003
Kawamuro, KeikoColumbia University20062

According to our current on-line database, Joan Birman has 21 students and 67 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 24360 for the advisor ID.