Joan Sylvia Lyttle Birman

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. New York University 1968 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Braid Groups and Their Relationship to Mapping Class Groups

Advisor: Wilhelm Magnus

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Brendle, TaraColumbia University20025
Broaddus, NathanColumbia University2003
Chen, ZhongheColumbia University1994
Fein, RichardStevens Institute of Technology1974
Finkelstein, ElizabethColumbia University1993
Fung, Tat SangColumbia University1996
Greenwood, MatthewColumbia University1996
Hamidi-Tehrani, HessamColumbia University1997
Kalfagianni, EfstratiaColumbia University199511
Kawamuro, KeikoColumbia University20062
Kupferwasser, MarcelloColumbia University1976
McCarthy, JohnColumbia University19832
Ng, Ka-YiColumbia University1996
Popescu, ClementColumbia University2001
Powell, JeromeColumbia University1977
Przytycki, JozefColumbia University198125
Stanford, TheodoreColumbia University19932
Trapp, RollandColumbia University1990
Wrinkle, NancyColumbia University2002
Xu, PeijunColumbia University1990
Zinno, MatthewColumbia University2001

According to our current on-line database, Joan Birman has 21 students and 68 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 24360 for the advisor ID.