Peter David Lax

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. New York University 1949 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Nonlinear System of Hyperbolic Partial Differential Equations in Two Independent Variables
Mathematics Subject Classification: 35—Partial differential equations

Advisor: Kurt Otto Friedrichs

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Rose, MiltonNew York University1953
Hahn, SusanNew York University1957
Peyser, GideonNew York University1957
Pimbley, GeorgeNew York University1957
Treuenfels, PeterNew York University1957
Kalaba, RobertNew York University19582
Wendroff, BurtonNew York University19581
Neustadt, LucienNew York University1960
Moeller, JamesNew York University19613
Foy, LinusNew York University1962
Hersh, ReubenNew York University196213
Reed, KennardNew York University1963
Rushfield, NormanNew York University1963
Quarles, Jr., DonaldNew York University1964
Fattorini, HectorNew York University19652
Logemann, GeorgeNew York University1965
Chorin, AlexandreNew York University1966398
Goldstein, CharlesNew York University1967
Lapidus, ArnoldNew York University1967
La Vita, JamesNew York University1967
Prince, JulianNew York University1967
Chen, Li-an LaurenceNew York University1968
Ciment, MelvynNew York University1968
Gerber, PorterNew York University1968
Halem, MiltonNew York University19682
Deem, GaryNew York University1969
Isaac, DonaldNew York University1970
Keyfitz, BarbaraNew York University19704
Swartz, BlairNew York University1970
Walker, HomerNew York University19709
Goodhue, WilliamNew York University19711
Jennings, GrayNew York University1971
Rauch, JeffreyNew York University197138
Alpern, StevenNew York University19732
Harten, AmiramNew York University1974
Ghil, MichaelNew York University197590
De Moura, CarlosNew York University197612
Hyman, JamesNew York University19766
Beylkin, GregoryNew York University19828
Levermore, CharlesNew York University198284
Venakides, StephanosNew York University198211
Epstein, CharlesNew York University19836
Anjilvel, SatishNew York University1984
Chen, Gui-QiangChinese Academy of Sciences198754
Joseph, KayyunnaparaNew York University19873
Winkler, AndrewNew York University1987
Smyrlis, YiorgosNew York University19892
Noelle, SebastianNew York University199022
Kamvissis, SpyridonNew York University19911
Tian, FeiranNew York University1991
Yang, YahanNew York University1991
Engelberg, ShlomoNew York University1994
Hayes, BrianNew York University1994
Chen, MinNew York University1996
Teytel, MikhailNew York University1996

According to our current on-line database, Peter Lax has 55 students and 827 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 13415 for the advisor ID.