Magnus Rudolph Hestenes


Ph.D. The University of Chicago 1932 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Sufficient Conditions for the General Problem of Mayer with Variable End-Points
Mathematics Subject Classification: 49—Calculus of variations and optimal control

Advisor: Gilbert Ames Bliss

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Brady, CarrollThe University of Chicago1938
Carson, AlbertThe University of Chicago1941
Culler, GlenUniversity of California, Los Angeles1959
Dennemeyer, ReneUniversity of California, Los Angeles1956
Farrenkopf, RobertUniversity of California, Los Angeles1970
Gittleman, ArthurUniversity of California, Los Angeles1969
Gregory, JohnUniversity of California, Los Angeles19691
Guinn, TheodoreUniversity of California, Los Angeles19643
Hayes, RobertUniversity of California, Los Angeles1952
Hazard, KatharineThe University of Chicago1940
Karush, WilliamThe University of Chicago1942
Kazarian, KazarUniversity of California, Los Angeles1950
Kimble, GeraldUniversity of California, Los Angeles1961
Landers, MaryThe University of Chicago1939
Landers, Jr., AubreyThe University of Chicago1939
Landesman, EdwardUniversity of California, Los Angeles19659
Lawson, JosephThe University of Chicago1945
Lewis, AnneThe University of Chicago1943
Lopez, GenovevoUniversity of California, Los Angeles1961
Meyer, Jr., WilliamThe University of Chicago1947
Mikami, EdwardUniversity of California, Los Angeles1968
Mookini, EdwinUniversity of California, Los Angeles1964
Nathanson, WestonUniversity of California, Los Angeles1970
Nordhaus, EdwardThe University of Chicago193989
Philipson, LloydUniversity of California, Los Angeles1954
Ritcey, LelandThe University of Chicago1945
Ritea, HowardUniversity of California, Los Angeles1967
Rupp, Jr., RussellUniversity of California, Los Angeles1970
Russak, IraUniversity of California, Los Angeles1967
Skaff, MichaelUniversity of California, Los Angeles1968
Stein, MarvinUniversity of California, Los Angeles1950
Stein, Jr., IvieUniversity of California, Los Angeles1971
Tan, SooUniversity of California, Los Angeles1972
Tapia, RichardUniversity of California, Los Angeles1967116
Wilkins, Jr., JesseThe University of Chicago1942

According to our current on-line database, Magnus Hestenes has 35 students and 253 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 6174 for the advisor ID.