Richard Alfred Tapia

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles 1967 UnitedStates
Dissertation: A Generalization of Newton's Method with an Application to the Euler-Lagrange Equation
Mathematics Subject Classification: 49—Calculus of variations and optimal control

Advisor 1: Magnus Rudolph Hestenes
Advisor 2: Charles Brown Tompkins

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Anderson, GeorgeRice University1978
Argaez, MiguelRice University19973
Byrd, RichardRice University19765
Carter, RichardRice University1986
Celis Avalos, MariaRice University1985
Chiang, JershanRice University1989
Cores-Carrera, DeboraRice University19941
Dean, EdwardRice University1985
de Montricher, GilbertRice University1973
El-Alem, MahmoudRice University19881
El-Bakry, AmrRice University1991
El Hallabi, MohammediRice University1987
Fontecilla, RodrigoRice University1983
Garg, NareshRice University1979
Gockenbach, MarkRice University19947
Gonzalez-Lima, MariaRice University1995
Guerra, VictorRice University1974
Hiebert, KathieRice University1978
Jamrog, DianeRice University2002
Kearsley, AnthonyRice University1996
Li, Shou BaiRice University1991
Martinez, HectorRice University1988
Martinez, MonicaRice University1998
McCarthy, MaryRice University1973
Nocedal, JorgeRice University197817
Papakonstantinou, JoannaRice University2009
Parada Garcia, ZeferinoRice University1997
Parks, TheresaRice University1985
Raydan, MarcosRice University199113
Redl, TimothyRice University2004
Samuelsen, CatherineRice University1992
Scott, DavidRice University197633
Velazquez Martinez, LeticiaRice University2000
Villalobos, MariaRice University2000
Williams, PamelaRice University1998

According to our current on-line database, Richard Tapia has 35 students and 115 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 14920 for the advisor ID.