George David Birkhoff

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. The University of Chicago 1907 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Asymptotic Properties of Certain Ordinary Differential Equations with Applications to Boundary Value and Expansion Problems

Advisor: E. H. (Eliakim Hastings) Moore

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Carmichael, RobertPrinceton University19111662
Slepian, JosephHarvard University1913
Williams, KennethPrinceton University1913
Robbins, RainardHarvard University1914
Wilson, LeviHarvard University1915
Batchelder, PaulHarvard University1916
Brink, RaymondHarvard University1916
Miller, NormanHarvard University1916
Morse, H. C. MarstonHarvard University19171605
Reynolds, Jr., ClarenceHarvard University1919
Ettlinger, HymanHarvard University1920495
Walsh, JosephHarvard University19202774
Adams, ClarenceHarvard University1922512
Langer, RudolphHarvard University1922634
Pairman, EleanorRadcliffe College1922
Garabedian, CarlHarvard University1923
Linfield, Ben-ZionHarvard University19231
Murray, ForrestHarvard University1923
Betz, HermanYale University1924
Holley, JulianHarvard University1924
Widder, DavidHarvard University1924617
Brinkmann, HeinrichHarvard University19258
Ward, LewisHarvard University19251
Bourgin, DavidHarvard University19261972
Koopman, BernardHarvard University1926471
Stone, MarshallHarvard University19262262
Sheffer, IsadorHarvard University19274
Coe, CarlHarvard University1929
Hinrichsen, JohnHarvard University19295
Liu, Chin-NienHarvard University1930
Morrey, Jr., CharlesHarvard University193126
Smith, TurnerHarvard University1931
Cope, Frances (Thorndike)Radcliffe College1932
Lewis, Jr., DanielHarvard University19325
Price, GriffithHarvard University193221
Whitney, HasslerHarvard University19321413
Steen, FrederickHarvard University1934
Galbraith, AlanHarvard University1937
Lancaster, OtisHarvard University1937
Street, RobertHarvard University1938
Clippinger, RichardHarvard University1940
Hestenes, ArnoldHarvard University1940
Agnew (LeCaine), JeanneRadcliffe College19417
Gravalos, FaustoHarvard University1941
Guenther, PaulHarvard University19412
O'Connor, RobertHarvard University1941

According to our current on-line database, George Birkhoff has 46 students and 12330 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 5879 for the advisor ID.