Shmuel Shimon Oren


Ph.D. Stanford University 1972 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Self-Scaling Variable Metric Algorithms for Unconstrained Minimization
Mathematics Subject Classification: 90—Operations research, mathematical programming

Advisor 1: David Gilbert Luenberger
Advisor 2: Dimitri Panteli Bertsekas
Advisor 3: George Elmer Forsythe

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Borison, AdamStanford University1982
Horan-Hecker, AvshalomStanford University1982
Powell, SteveStanford University1983
Dhebar, AnirudhStanford University1984
Phillips, RobertStanford University1986
Schwartz, RickyStanford University1986
Lee, KyungUniversity of California, Berkeley1987
Doucet, JosephUniversity of California, Berkeley1988
Braden, DavidStanford University1989
Wood, DavidUniversity of California, Berkeley1989
Min, Kyung JoUniversity of California, Berkeley1990
Strauss, ToddUniversity of California, Berkeley1992
Svoboda, Jr., AlvaUniversity of California, Berkeley1992
Bushnell, JamesUniversity of California, Berkeley19931
Friedman, EricUniversity of California, Berkeley19931
Ugarte, ArmandoUniversity of California, Berkeley1995
Tseng, Chung-LiUniversity of California, Berkeley1996
Elmaghraby, WedadUniversity of California, Berkeley1998
Craft, AmyStanford University1999
Deng, ShijieUniversity of California, Berkeley1999
Wilson, AmyUniversity of California, Berkeley2000
Kamat, RajnishUniversity of California, Berkeley2001
Siddiqui, AfzalUniversity of California, Berkeley2002
Sauma, EnzoUniversity of California, Berkeley2005
Oum, YumiUniversity of California, Berkeley2006
Yao, JianUniversity of California, Berkeley2006
Sioshansi, RamteenUniversity of California, Berkeley20071
Lee, YongheonUniversity of California, Berkeley2008
Hedman, KoryUniversity of California, Berkeley20101
Papavasiliou, AnthonyUniversity of California, Berkeley2011
Limpaitoon, TanachaiUniversity of California, Berkeley2012
Li, RuoyangUniversity of California, Berkeley2014
Chen, ChenUniversity of California, Berkeley2015
Lipka, PaulaUniversity of California, Berkeley2015
Campaigne, ClayUniversity of California, Berkeley2016
Shi, JiayingUniversity of California, Berkeley2018
Yang, ZhuUniversity of California, Berkeley2018

According to our current on-line database, Shmuel Oren has 37 students and 41 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 156564 for the advisor ID.