Douglas Richard Hofstadter


Ph.D. University of Oregon 1975 UnitedStates
Dissertation: The Energy Levels of Bloch Electrons in a Magnetic Field
Mathematics Subject Classification: 70—Mechanics of particles and systems

Advisor 1: Gregory Hugh Wannier

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Chalmers, DavidIndiana University1993
Ekbia, HamidIndiana University2003
Foundalis, HarryIndiana University2006
French, RobertUniversity of Michigan1992
Hurley, MatthewIndiana University2018
Lara-Dammer, FranciscoIndiana University2009
Mahabal, AbhijitIndiana University2010
Marshall, JamesIndiana University1999
McGraw, GaryIndiana University1995
Mitchell, MelanieUniversity of Michigan19906
Nichols, EricIndiana University2012
Rehling, JohnIndiana University2001
York, WilliamIndiana University2015

According to our current on-line database, Douglas Hofstadter has 13 students and 19 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 136722 for the advisor ID.