James Johnston Stoker


Ph.D. ETH Zürich 1936 Switzerland
Dissertation: Ueber die Gestalt der positiv gekrümmten offenen Flächen im dreidimensionalen Raume.

Advisor 1: Heinz Hopf
Advisor 2: George (György) Pólya

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Anand, KailashNew York University1980
Ansjar, MuhammadNew York University1966
Booth, GeorgeNew York University1956
Bromberg, EleazerNew York University19501
Chen, Li-chiehNew York University1970
Dickey, R. WayneNew York University19654
Dressler, RobertNew York University1949
Eckweiler, HowardNew York University1943
Evans, GeorgeNew York University1951
Fife, PaulNew York University195923
Fifer, StanleyNew York University1950
Finizio, NormanNew York University19726
Fleishman, BernardNew York University19522
Folguera, HugoNew York University1969
Grube, GeraldNew York University1972
Hirsch, WarrenNew York University19526
Hoitsma, DavidNew York University1973
Jordan, MeyerNew York University1956
Kolodner, IgnaceNew York University195013
Kuby, GeorgeNew York University1963
Lowell, ShermanNew York University1949
Lubkin, SamuelNew York University1939
Nirenberg, LouisNew York University1949541
Pan, EnlinNew York University1975
Pohle, FrederickNew York University19512
Puri, KewalNew York University1967
Rose, NicholasNew York University19569
Rubin, HananNew York University1953
Spinelli, RobertNew York University1956
Steinberg, HowardNew York University1969
Tsuji, MichaelNew York University1975
Turim, JayNew York University1969
Turkel, EliNew York University197011
Van Heijenoort, John [Jean]New York University194919
Vogel, JohnNew York University1969
Wolkowisky, JayNew York University1966
Yanowitch, MichaelNew York University19536

According to our current on-line database, James Stoker has 37 students and 678 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 15188 for the advisor ID.