W. Gilbert (William) Strang


Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles 1959 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Difference Methods for Mixed Boundary Value Problems

Advisor: Peter Karl Henrici

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Berger, AlanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1972
Betaneli, DmitriMassachusetts Institute of Technology1998
Christiansen, EdmundMassachusetts Institute of Technology19761
Colthurst, ThomasMassachusetts Institute of Technology1997
Dickinson, DeanneMassachusetts Institute of Technology1966
Doles, III, JohnMassachusetts Institute of Technology1969
Fann, GeorgeMassachusetts Institute of Technology2000
Flaschka, HermannMassachusetts Institute of Technology197012
Goldberg, MichaelMassachusetts Institute of Technology1972
Gorsich, DavidMassachusetts Institute of Technology2000
Grinfeld, PavelMassachusetts Institute of Technology20031
Holmes, RichardMassachusetts Institute of Technology196412
Israel, JayMassachusetts Institute of Technology1968
Liu, XiangweiMassachusetts Institute of Technology2001
Matthies, HermannMassachusetts Institute of Technology197875
Miller, JohnMassachusetts Institute of Technology196579
Packel, EdwardMassachusetts Institute of Technology1967
Persson, Per-OlofMassachusetts Institute of Technology20056
Rubinstein, RobertMassachusetts Institute of Technology1972
Scott, L. RidgwayMassachusetts Institute of Technology197337
Shen, JianhongMassachusetts Institute of Technology19981
Strela, VasilyMassachusetts Institute of Technology1996

According to our current on-line database, W. Gilbert Strang has 22 students and 246 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 13383 for the advisor ID.